2020 Team USA F3J

The pilots selected to represent USA in 2022 are from L to R Skip Miller (Alternate), Neal Huffman, Josh Glaab, Jeff DuVal and Juniors Brayden Chamberlain, Noah Myers, Charleston Thomas.

Welcome to the official website of the 2022 USA F3J team. We hope that you will return here often to see how the preparation for our journey to Slovakia in August 2022 is developing. This Team was originally selected to represent the USA for the 2020 F3J World Championships but due to Covid 19 the contest has been postponed twice until August 2022. Along the way the Junior Team members Brayden Chamberlain and Noah Myers both became too old to compete as juniors and were replaced by Sean Summers and John Bradley. Women competitors were also added to this World Championship for the first time and Amy Pool was selected to represent USA.

As most of you know our national organization (the AMA) sponsors our FAI Teams but this valuable sponsorship only pays for a small portion of the costs to send a team to a World Championships. The last few years have seen a huge reduction in the funding of FAI Teams by our National body and as a result we must rely on you – our fellow sail-planers to help us with fundraising to make up for the extra costs that sending this very competitive team will incur.

Slovakia is a very long way from the USA and the cost of airfares alone are extremely expensive. We are also faced with the decreased buying power of the US dollar. We would like the US Team to be able to spend as much time as possible readying for the competition, and not have to worry about how they will pay for air tickets, transportation, and model shipping.

We hope that you will help your national team by buying tickets in the giant raffle we are planning or by buying some Team apparel. If you want to simply make a tax deductible donation you may do that also. We have provided a team store and shopping cart on this site for your convenience and you can use Visa, Mastercard or AMEX to make your purchase. The raffle includes many fantastic prizes, donated by our fabulous Sponsors in the RC soaring industry. As time goes by check out the growing and amazing list of raffle prizes and please purchase tickets to win.

Team USA F3J Juniors

The three Juniors selected to represent USA are from L to R Charleston Thomas, Brayden Chamberlain and Noah Myers. Incredible talent here.

Team USA F3J Seniors

It’s an Xplorer whitewash with Skip, Neal, Josh and Jeff holding their winning models after the Team selection event in VA

This 2022 USA Worlds Team has amazing depth with Jeff Duval having experience in Slovenia in 2016 and one of the winningest pilots in the country supported by Josh Glaab. Josh is one of the nicest guys in soaring, unbeatable on his day and always at the top of the leader board at every F3J contest he enters. Josh’s previous experience in Romania in 2018 as Junior Team Manager will provide him with a great base to help the USA Team take gold in 2022. Josh practiced relentlessly leading up to the Team Selection event as he had suffered disappointments in the past finishing as the alternate on numerous previous teams. Neal Huffman is also an experienced worlds campaigner having competed in Romania in 2018 with great distinction making the fly-offs. Neal is the epitome of the perfect Soaring Pilot having a steady temperament and the ability to always find the good air. This new Team has a huge depth of experience and will represent USA at the highest level.
The US Team was chosen at the Team Selection event held Horse Feathers Airport, Warrenton, VA on October 5th, 6th, and 7th, 2019. The event CD’d by Kerry Cochrell and was run by the very competent ESL (Eastern Soaring League.). Neal Huffman, Josh Glaab and their team did an awesome job. Cd was . The top 3 senior pilots after 17 grueling rounds will represent the USA for the Worlds. They will be joined by our top female pilot Amy Pool under the new rule allowing a country to bring a female pilot for a four-person team. The 4th placed pilot will serve as the alternate in case a competitor is unable to make the trip. The 4 senior pilots are Jeff Duval, Josh Glaab, Neal Huffman and Amy Pool, with Jody Miller as the Team Manager. In 4th place, our alternate is Skip Miller. The Junior Pilots will be Charleston Thomas, Sean Summers and John Bradley. Junior Team Manager is Gordon Buckland.

Go Team USA!

Comments are closed.